Women’s Foundation Announces 2017 Girls Leadership Class


Kansas City, MO -- Today Women’s Foundation announced the acceptance of 64 high school students into its Girls Leadership program. This sets a new record for the largest leadership class, beating last year’s number of 61 students. The Girls Leadership Program is a free, year-long program for high school girls who are interested in developing leadership skills and understanding the importance of philanthropy in their communities and beyond.  The young women will learn about grant-making, fundraising, leadership, team building, program evaluation and budgeting. Started in 1999, the program is in its 18th year and has over 303 alumnae.

Members of the 2017 Class:

Safa Altaie, East High School

Abigail Andrews, Pembroke Hill School

Jordyn Beard, Smithville High School

Katherine Benhardt, Liberty High School

Kyle Bergerson, Pembroke Hill

Arsema Berhane , University Academy

Shera  Bhala, Pembroke Hill School

Anna  Boda , Blue Valley North High School

Virginia Daisy Bolin, Shawnee Mission East

Alison Booth, Mill Valley High School

Elianna ("Ellie")  Burke, Pembroke Hill

Julia Butch,  Barstow School

Brianda Carter, Ruskin High School

Anahi Casas Perez, Lee's Summit High School

Ellie Copaken, Pembroke Hill School

Alexandra Copaken, Pembroke Hill School

Grace Cross, Pembroke Hill School

Clare Cunningham, Staley High School

Anna Deschamp, Saint Thomas Aquinas High School

Sienna Doering, Pembroke Hill

Kelsey  East, Lansing High School

Camryn Eberhardy, Saint Thomas Aquinas

Adrianna Gautreaux, Pembroke Hill School

Ingrid Stefany Gomez, Allen Village Charter High school

Nancy Green, Blue Valley North

Annelise Holland ,Lansing High School

Ellie Hughes ,Pembroke Hill School

Hannah Jirousek, St. Teresa's Academy

Daijah Jones, Piper High School

Elizabeth Joseph, Mill Valley High School

Hunter Julo, Pembroke Hill

Lena Kellogg, Leavenworth High School

Jacqueline Kincaid, Pembroke Hill

Madhura Leninkannan, Blue Valley West

Grace Mayer, St. Thomas Aquinas High School

Lucy Baylor McCrary, Pembroke Hill School

Mariah McDaniel, University Academy

Rachel Meiners, Barstow School

Eleanor Mendelson, Blue Valley North

Chloe  Metheny-Morris, Lee's Summit West High School

Allison Moody, Pembroke Hill School

Lillian Oliver, Shawnee Mission Northwest

Audrey O'Shaughnessy, Pembroke Hill School

Tina Pham, Staley High School

Jazmyn Phelts, Center Senior High School

Ruby Rios, Bishop Miege High School

Ellie Ruland ,Pembroke Hill

Olivia Sabates, Pembroke Hill School

Fatma Said, Staley High School

Caroline Salzman, Pembroke Hill

Sanah Shabbir, Olathe North High School

Phoenix Smith, Oak Park High School

Claire St. Peter, Pembroke Hill School

Erin Sturd, Saint Thomas Aquinas High School

Meagan Sullivan, Saint Thomas Aquinas

Alexis Theoharidis, Staley High School

Tatum Trysla, Blue Valley North

Madlin Tutu, Oak Park High School

Jasmine Werninger, Oak Park High School

Meah Wilburn ,Lee's Summit High School

Lauren Winston, Shawnee Mission East High School

Anna Wolock ,Blue Valley North High School

Hannah Wood, Platte County High School

Milkise Yassin, Staley High School

Women’s Foundation promotes equity and opportunity for women of all ages, using research, philanthropy,  and policy solutions to make meaningful change.  More information about the organization can be found at www.Womens-Foundation.org.