Women's Foundation Announces Largest Class of Girls Leadership Program

Girls Leadership Program Receives Record Number of Applicants

Kansas City, MO – The Women’s Foundation today announced the acceptance of 50 young women into the Girls Leadership Program- the largest number in the program’s history. The Girls Leadership program received a record number of applicants this year from young women in the Kansas City area who are interested in learning about public service.  

“We are very excited about the number of applicants and the growing interest that young women have in learning about leadership and philanthropy. We look forward to learning and growing with these talented young women as we work for change together,” said Wendy Doyle, President and CEO of the Women’s Foundation.

In partnership with Cottey College, the Women’s Foundation Girls Leadership program will educate and empower high school girls to be confident leaders and philanthropists in their communities and beyond. By actively participating in the program, each girl will be eligible for a $3,000 per year scholarship up to a total of $12,000 for each girl who successfully completes the program and chooses to attend Cottey College.

Members of the 2015 Girls Leadership Program are:

Madeleine "Maddie" Adam, St. Teresa's Academy
Uchechukwu "Uche"  Agali, North Kansas City High School
Vibha Agarwal, Blue Valley Northwest High School
Kenzi  Bacchus, Lincoln College Prep
Annie  Bolin, St. Teresa's Academy
Hanna Ceule, Mill Valley
Grace  Cole, Bishop Miege High School
Kate  Cosentino, Blue Valley West High School
Maurissa LeAnne  Cunningham, Center High School
Nicole  D'Souza, Blue Valley West High School
Natalie Dameron, Pembroke Hill
Mame  Dia, Lincoln College Prep
Mya  Dixon, University Academy
Sophia  Dominguez-Heithoff, Park Hill South High School
Estela Espitia, Alta Vista
Alyce  Freeman, Lee's Summit North High School
Mya  Garrett, University Academy
Alexandra  Green, Raymore-Peculiar High School
Hannah Hall, Shawnee Mission South
Tara Hansen, Platte County High School
Charlene  Hansen, Shawnee Mission West
Catherine  Henne, Notre Dame de Sion
Darline Henrius, East High School
Maya Hill, Pembroke Hill
Taylor  Holmes, Sumner Academy of Arts and Science
Lauren  Ingraham, Park Hill South High School
Mona  Jahani, Shawnee Mission South
Shreya  Kalavala, Blue Valley West High School
Alexa Kemper, Lee's Summit North High School
Alaina  Kent, Archbiship O'Hara High School
Karen Michelle  Lemus, Sumner Academy of Arts and Science
Taylor Long, Staley High School
Renny Ma, Shawnee Mission West
Kennedy  McGreevy, St. Thomas Aquinas
Libby Miller, Olathe South
Hannah Motley, Blue Valley North High School
M'Kiylah  Pearson, University Academy
Emily Reid, St. James High School
Maddy Roney, St. Thomas Aquinas
Evelyn  Shelby, Staley High School
JoLynn Smith, Shawnee Mission West
Nadia Suhail, Mill Valley
Athena  Tran, Blue Valley North High School
Mahasin  Tutu, Oak Park High School
Grace  Vedock, Pembroke Hill
Grace  Wampler, Shawnee Mission West
Josie  Weck, Notre Dame de Sion
Helen  Wheatley, St. Teresa's Academy
Brittanie  Whitney, Shawnee Mission East
Ke'Anni  Williams, William Chrisman High School 

The Girls Leadership Program (formerly the Rachel Alexandra Girls Grant Program) was established in 1999 for the purpose of teaching teen women all aspects of philanthropy including grant-making, fundraising, leadership, team-building, program evaluation, and budgeting.  It is a year-long program that will be facilitated this year by Cottey College. 

The Women’s Foundation promotes equity and opportunity for women and girls, using philanthropy, research and policy solutions to make meaningful change.  More information about the organization can be found at www.Womens-Foundation.org.